The battle monument on Lake Ägeri

Around 2 km north of the battlefield with its chapel, Morgartenhaus and tower, the Morgarten Monument has been surveying Lake Ägeri for more than a hundred years.

Inaugurated in 1908, the monument is unique in the panoply of Swiss monuments. There is nothing quite like it for situation and design, size and shape.

The edifice is constructed entirely of Nagelfluh conglomerate. The base consists of cyclopean masonry, while the ashlar masonry and protruding pillars feature coarsely worked sides; the inclined roof is worked to a smooth finish. The restrained architectural arrangement of the protruding pillars, grooved within the capitals, is barely noticeable. The same applies to the shield-shaped cartouche in the tympanum, framed by stylised tassels. In it, picked out in bronze, are the words DEN HELDEN VON MORGARTEN 1315 (To the heroes of Morgarten 1315).

The central canopy features high open arches on three sides, while the rear flank with its protruding wing walls facing the mountain also bears an inscription picked out in bronze letters. It reads: AM 15. NOV. 1315 KÄMPFTEN FÜR GOTT UND VATERLAND DIE EIDGENOSSEN AM MORGARTEN DIE ERSTE FREIHEITSSCHLACHT (At Morgarten on 15 November 1315 the Confederates fought the first battle for freedom, God and the Fatherland). It surmounts a relief depicting "The stone-thrower" by Hermann Haller (1880-1950).

This exceptional monument also has a chequered history: several thousand enthusiastic people attended the inauguration of the memorial on Buchwäldli Hill by Lake Ägeri on 2 August 1908.

This celebratory moment had been preceded by a year of building work peppered with debates on the monument's design and funding – and historical basis. Neither historians nor politicians could agree on the course of the battle or on its precise location. Hotly contested debates and differences of opinion abounded, especially between Cantons Schwyz and Zug.

Initial endeavours to devote a monument to the "heroes of Morgarten" are discernible in the Ägeri Valley as early as 1844. The idea was revived in military circles in 1890 and a fund established. Matters began gaining momentum when the Company of Officers of Canton Zug took over the central committee of the Swiss Company of Officers in 1902 and thereby the Officers' Gala in 1904. An initiators' committee formed from the ranks of the Company of Officers of Canton Zug, including at first a representative of Schwyz, was tasked with developing the idea of a monument.

The moment it reached the decision to locate the monument on Buchwäldli Hill – historically far from appropriate but very appealing from a tourism point of view – the Schwyz contingent withdrew to focus its efforts on renovating what it saw as the "genuine" battle monument – the Morgarten Chapel at Schornen – and on erecting a national monument in Schwyz.

A competition was held, won by the Winterthur architect, Robert Rittmeyer. Once Canton Zug had acquired the land at Buchwäldli, work on constructing the Zug-sponsored monument began in earnest in November 1906; it ended the following autumn. Spring 1908 saw the addition of the interior decoration and lettering, and the inauguration took place amid festivities on 2 August 1908. The "heroes of Morgarten" now had their monument and the Ägeri Valley a nationally recognised tourist destination.

The erection of the Morgarten Monument no doubt also eased the emergence of the Morgartenschiessen marksmanship competition, inaugurated on 15 November 1912.

The Morgarten Monument binds landscape and history in many different ways and, with the story underlying its conception and with its aura of idealism, it has turned into a place of remembrance for the Swiss.

Le monument de la bataille, au bord du lac d'Aegeri

A 2 km environ au nord du champ de bataille où se trouvent la chapelle, la Maison de Morgarten et le Letziturm, un monument de Morgarten se dresse au-dessus du lac d'Aegeri depuis plus de cent ans.

Cet édifice, consacré en 1908, occupe une place à part dans le paysage monumental suisse. Sa situation, sa conception, ses dimensions et sa forme ne sont directement comparables à aucun autre site commémoratif de Suisse.        

La construction est entièrement en roche poudingue. Le socle est constitué d'une maçonnerie cyclopéenne; les moellons carrés des murs et des jambes de force possèdent des faces travaillées dans la rugosité, et les pentes du toit sont un ouvrage presque lisse. On ne s'aperçoit presque pas de la structure architectonique discrète des piliers avant, qui présentent des cannelures dans la région du chapiteau. Il en va de même du cartouche en forme d'écu du pignon, qui est entouré de franges stylisées. Il porte en lettres de bronze les mots « AUX HÉROS DE MORGARTEN 1315 ».

Le baldaquin central est largement ouvert sur trois côtés, tandis que la paroi côté montagne, avec ses murs en ailes, est munie d'une inscription ciselée en lettres de bronze. Sa teneur est la suivante: «LE 15 NOV. 1315, LES CONFÉDÉRÉS ONT LIVRÉ À MORGARGEN LEUR PREMIÈRE BATAILLE DE LA LIBERTÉ, POUR DIEU ET LA PATRIE.» En dessous, on voit le bas-relief du «Lanceur de pierre» de Hermann Haller (1880-1950).

Ce monument peu ordinaire a également une histoire peu ordinaire: le 2 août 1908, lorsqu'il fut solennellement inauguré, plusieurs milliers de visiteurs enthousiastes se trouvèrent à cet endroit pour l'occasion, près du petit bois de hêtres, au bord du lac d'Aegeri.

Ces festivités avaient été précédées d'une construction qui avait duré des années et lors de laquelle s'étaient posées non seulement des questions d'esthétique du bâtiment et de financement, mais aussi d'historicité. Ni les historiens, ni les politiciens n'étaient d'accord sur le déroulement et sur les lieux proprement dits de la bataille. C'est surtout entre les cantons de Schwyz et de Zoug que d'âpres discussions et discordances avaient résonné.

C'est en 1844, dans la vallée d'Aegeri (Ägerital), que les premières intentions de consacrer un monument aux «Héros de Morgarten» s'étaient exprimées. En 1890, l'idée fut reprise dans les milieux militaires, et un fonds lui fut même dédié. Ces efforts prirent forme en 1902, année où la Société des officiers du canton de Zoug assura le comité central de la Société des officiers suisse, et s'occupa donc aussi de la fête des officiers de 1904. Un comité d'initiative, tiré des rangs de la Société des officiers de Zoug, avec au début même un représentant schwytzois, fut chargée de concrétiser l'idée du monument.

Lorsque le choix du lieu se porta sur la colline du petit bois de hêtres, certes un peu douteux quant à sa pertinence historique, mais attrayant sur le plan du tourisme, Schwyz se retira du comité et concentra ses efforts sur la rénovation du «vrai» monument de la bataille, la chapelle de la bataille à Schornen, et sur l'édification d'un monument national à Schwyz.

Dans le cadre d'un concours, le projet de monument de l'architecte Robert Rittmeyer, originaire de Winterthour, fut sélectionné. Le Canton de Zoug acheta le terrain du petit bois de hêtres («Buchwäldli»): les travaux purent commencer en novembre 1906 et durèrent jusqu'en automne 1907. Au printemps 1908, on ajouta la décoration et les inscriptions de l'intérieur, et l'inauguration, solennelle et festive, eut lieu le 2 août 1908. Les «Héros de Morgarten» avaient désormais leur monument, et la vallée d'Aegeri un but d'excursion touristique renommé dans tout le pays.

L'édification du monument de Morgarten eut sans doute aussi son importance pour la naissance des Tirs de Morgarten traditionnels, qui eurent lieu pour la première fois le 15 novembre 1912.

Le monument de Morgarten relie le paysage à l'histoire de différentes manières et, par les aléas de sa construction et son rayonnement idéaliste, est devenu un lieu de mémoire des Suisses.